The Board of Trustees is the governing body of St. Joseph Montessori School. It is composed of 12 to 14 individuals who volunteer their time and offer their backgrounds, diverse knowledge, and talents within our school community and beyond to serve in this very important capacity. The Board operates in a manner consistent with the school’s mission and values.

Responsibilities of the Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees has ultimate fiduciary responsibility for the performance and operations of the school. The Board employs and reviews the performance of the Head of School, who is responsible for implementing the policies set by the Board and for managing the school’s daily operations. It oversees the financial management of SJMS, as well as plans, develops, and establishes the policies for the governance of the school consistent with its mission and strategic plan. The Board is also responsible for communicating the financial condition and the need for fundraising to the school’s constituencies and the community, and assists the Head of School in setting and achieving fundraising goals. It is an advocate of the school among all of its constituencies—parents, faculty, students, and community at large. The Board of Trustees is responsible for the school’s purpose, direction, and progress.

2017-2018 Board of Trustees

Dirk White, President
Anthony Celebrezze III, Vice President
Ronnie Romito, Treasurer
Terry Gore, Secretary

Board Members:
Larissa Blevins
Nancy Coons
Christine Frankart
Mark Lomax II
Toby Rittner
John Schaffner
Brad Shank
Stephanie Smith

Ex Officio:
Matt Brenner, Head of School
Lisa Jolley, Family Association Co-President
Sarah McCurdy, Family Association Co-President
Michael Graham, Erdkinder Teacher
Molly Murphy, Children's House 1 Teacher

Individuals interested in serving on the board should contact Board Secretary, Terry Gore.